What is a Chakra? A Chakra is a Sanskrit word, translating into “wheels of light”, to represent the 7 focal energy points that run parallel to our spinal column. These major 7 energy points have individual functions that effect numerous parts of our subtle body as well as our state of consciousness, and is the foundation for our Auras. An Aura is a pulsating electromagnetic energy field that surrounds our physical being, and is usually described as a luminous light body or a rainbow-like aura. This “subtle energy” flows through our centered spirals of energy, or Chakras.

Now that you know what a Chakra is, does it really matter?

These 7 major wheels of energies are connected to our thoughts, our emotions, and our overall health. Negative thinking and feelings can hinder the spin of these wheels, which creates an imbalance in the body resulting in sickness and diseases. Having active, decalcified, and balanced Chakras is the key to not only raising your vibrations, but learning to master your abilities to manifest your life’s desires.

So let’s take a look at the 7 major Chakras, what they represent, and the body’s connection to them.


The Root or Base Chakra.

Located: Last bone in the spinal cord,

right by the tailbone

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara

Color: Red

Mantra: “I Am”

Zodiac: Capricorn, Virgo, Taurus

Health Issues: Joint pain, lower backaches, elimination problems, obesity, constipation, anorexia, and poor immune system function.

The Root Chakra represents our connection to the earth. It stands for self-preservation, personal survival, getting grounded, emotional function and security.


The Sacral or Naval Chakra

Located: Ovaries/Prostate

Sanskrit Name: Svadhisthana

Color: Orange

Mantra: “I Feel”

Zodiac: Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

Health Issues: Uterine or bladder problems, sexual difficulties, impotence, lack of flexibility, lower back pain, and problems with large intestines.

The Sacral Chakra represents our relationships, intimacy, sexuality, and procreation, sense of belonging, creativity and friendships.


The Solar Plexus Chakra

Located: Navel area

Sanskrit Name: Manipura

Color: Yellow

Mantra: “I Do”

Zodiac: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Health Issues: diabetes, hypoglycemia, gallstones, nervousness, low energy, muscle cramps, stomach problems, lumbar spine, liver disorders.

The Solar Plexus Chakra represents self-esteem, will power, confidence, emotions, intellectual understandings, motivation, goals and inner strength.


The Heart Chakra

Located: Heart area

Sanskrit Name: Anahata

Color: Green

Mantra: “I Love”

Zodiac: Aquarius, Gemini, Libra

Health Issues: high blood pressure, breathing difficulties, circulation problems, shortness of breath, chest pains, disorders of the heart, tension between the shoulders.

The Heart Chakra represents unity, compassion, unconditional love, self-love, harmony, relationships and forgiveness.


The Throat Chakra

Located: Throat and Neck area

Sanskrit Name: Vissudha

Color: Blue

Mantra: “I Speak”

No Zodiac Signs

Health Issues: fever, ear infections, weariness, thyroid problems, disorders in the throat, ears, voice, neck, cervical spine, hypothalamus and esophagus problems.

The Throat Chakra represents self-expression, communication, speech, loyalty, authenticity, truthful expression, honesty and truth.


The Brow or Third Eye Chakra

Located: Pineal gland or third eye

Sanskrit Name: Ajna

Color: Indigo

Mantra: “I See”

No Zodiac Signs

Health Issues: headaches, eye problems, pituitary and pineal glands, neurological problems.

The Third Eye Chakra represents insight, intuition, clairvoyance, visions, astral traveling, divine wisdom and great memory.


The Crown Chakra

Located: At the top of the head

Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara

Color: Purple, White, Clear

Mantra: “I Know”

No Zodiac Signs

Health Issues: Migraines, brain tumors, coma, amnesia, nervous system and muscular system  disorders, mental issues, and skin disorders.

The Crown Chakra represents understanding, divine connection, transcendence, enlightenment, higher consciousness and self-awareness.


Understanding WHAT a Charka is allows you to understand their importance to our health and well-being. Once we understand the significance of these wheels of energy, we can begin taking the proper steps needed not only to activate, decalcify and balance them out, but learn how to use this knowledge to manifest goals.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.